
Home / Comparisons / Spec sheets
Spec sheetImpact Drivers compared
An impact driver drives long screws and lag bolts that stall a drill. It takes 1/4" hex bits, not round drill bits. Here is every major brand at the same tier, side by side, from each brand's own spec pages.
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Copied from each brand's own product pages, accessed 2026-10-29. We never rank them or pick a winner from specs.
The store buttons under each model are affiliate links: I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Specs are never changed because of a commission.
Weekend projects, repairs around the house, a few jobs a month. Lighter and lower cost.
Daily use, bigger bits and blades, tougher material. More power, usually more weight and cost.
Batteries only fit tools from their own brand line. If you already own batteries, compare inside that brand first.
Entry / DIY brushless
Ryobi ONE+ HP, Craftsman V20 brushless, Ridgid 18V brushless, DeWalt ATOMIC/XR, Milwaukee M18 brushless, Makita 18V LXT brushless, Bosch 18V brushless. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | No-load speed (RPM) | Impacts per minute (IPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GDR18V-1800 [7]18V Brushless 1/4" Hex Impact Driver (kit page GDR18V-1800B12)AmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,800 in-lbs | 0-3,400 | up to 4,000feature bullet | 2.3 lbbasis not stated; kit page | 4.9 in |
| Craftsman CMCF813B [9]V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/4" Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,500 in-lbsfeature bullet | up to 2,800 | up to 3,500feature bullet | 2.45 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 9.0 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated |
| DeWalt DCF809B [3]ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4" Brushless Compact Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,700 in-lbsfeature bullet | up to 2,800 | not published | 2.43 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 5.1 infeature bullet |
| Makita XDT13Z [5]18V LXT Brushless Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,500 in.lbs (170 N·m) | 0-3,400 | 0-3,600 | 3.3 lb with battery (spec table; a feature bullet says 3.5 lb) | 5 in overall |
| Milwaukee 3650-20 [1]M18 Compact Brushless 1/4" Hex Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,700 in-lbs | 0-3,600 | 0-4,900 | 1.7 lb (tool only) | 4.4 in |
| Ridgid R862301B [11]18V Brushless 1/4" Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 2,200 in-lbs (spec table; feature text says 2,300) | 2,900 max | 4,200 (listed as "Blows per Minute") | 2.3 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published |
| Ryobi PSBID02B [13]18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/4" Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,900 in-lbs | 0-3,000 | 0-3,900 | 1.85 lbbasis not stated | not published |
Pro / flagship
Milwaukee M18 FUEL, DeWalt XR / FLEXVOLT ADVANTAGE, Makita LXT flagship, Bosch PROFACTOR, Ridgid top current model, Ryobi HP top model, Craftsman V20 RP. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | No-load speed (RPM) | Impacts per minute (IPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GDR18V-1860CN [8]18V Connected-Ready 1/4" Hex Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,860 in-lbs | 0-1,100 / 0-2,300 / 0-3,400 | up to 4,100feature bullet | 2.4 lbbasis not stated | 4.9 in |
| Craftsman CMCF830B [10]V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/4" 3-Speed Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,800 in-lbsfeature bullet | 0-1,400 / 0-2,400 / 0-3,200spec table + feature bullet | not published | 2.44 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 5.91 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated |
| DeWalt DCF860B [4]20V MAX XR 1/4" 3-Speed Brushless High Torque Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | up to 2,500 in-lbsfeature bullet | up to 3,800 | not published | 2.8 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 5.63 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated |
| Makita XDT19Z [6]18V LXT Brushless Quick-Shift Mode 4-Speed Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,590 in.lbsmanufacturer spec sheet (PDF) | 0-1,100 / 0-2,100 / 0-3,200 / 0-3,600manufacturer spec sheet (PDF) | 0-1,000 / 0-2,600 / 0-3,600 / 0-3,800manufacturer spec sheet (PDF) | 3.3 lb with batterymanufacturer spec sheet (PDF) | 4-1/2 in overallmanufacturer spec sheet (PDF) |
| Milwaukee 2953-20 [2]M18 FUEL 1/4" Hex Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 2,000 in-lbs | 0-3,900 | 0-4,400 | 2.2 lb (tool only); 3.8 lb with battery | 4.47 in |
| Ridgid R862311B [12]18V Brushless 3-Speed 1/4" Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 2,300 in-lbs | 2,900 max | 4,200 (listed as "Blows per Minute") | 2.3 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published |
| Ryobi PBLID04B [14]18V ONE+ HP Brushless 4-Mode 1/4" Impact DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | up to 2,300 in-lbs | 0-3,400 | 0-4,200 | not published | not published |
Charts by spec
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
Max torque (in-lbs, as published)
In-lbs only, as published. UWO/MWO ratings are in the tables, not charted. Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
No-load speed (RPM)
Impacts per minute (IPM)
Weight (lb)
Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
Length (in)
Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
What the specs mean
Fastening force. Higher figures help with lag bolts, but brands test it their own way.
How many rotational hits per minute once the screw starts to resist.
Top spin speed. Multi-speed drivers let you slow down for small screws.
How to read these tables
- Values are copied as published. Nothing is estimated, averaged or converted. "not published" means the manufacturer page didn't list it. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
- Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
- Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
- Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
- Grey text under a value shows where on the page it came from (if not the spec table), or that the brand doesn't say what the weight includes.
Keep learning
Brand pages with deals, manuals and warranty: DeWalt · Makita · Milwaukee · Ridgid · Ryobi
More spec sheets
Sources
All manufacturer pages, accessed 2026-10-29. No retailer data used. No prices shown. Specs change, so check the brand's page before you buy.
- Milwaukee 3650-20, M18 Compact Brushless 1/4" Hex Impact Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/x/3650-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Milwaukee 2953-20, M18 FUEL 1/4" Hex Impact Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/x/2953-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCF809B, ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/4" Brushless Compact Impact Driver: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcf809b/atomic-20v-max-14-brushless-compact-impact-driver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCF860B, 20V MAX XR 1/4" 3-Speed Brushless High Torque Impact Driver: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcf860b/20v-max-xr-14-3-speed-brushless-high-torque-impact-driver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Makita XDT13Z, 18V LXT Brushless Impact Driver: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XDT13Z. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Makita XDT19Z, 18V LXT Brushless Quick-Shift Mode 4-Speed Impact Driver: https://cdn.makitatools.com/apps/cms/doc/prod/XDT/85329ef2-89bd-4858-ba51-c26b3ae00999_XDT19T_NTFE.pdf [manufacturer spec sheet (XDT19T kit sheet; it lists XDT19Z as the bare tool). Product page: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XDT19Z shows no spec table.]. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GDR18V-1800, 18V Brushless 1/4" Hex Impact Driver (kit page GDR18V-1800B12): https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gdr18v-1800b12-06019J2113 [kit page; no bare-tool page found]. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GDR18V-1860CN, 18V Connected-Ready 1/4" Hex Impact Driver: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gdr18v-1860cn-06019J011C. Accessed 2026-10-29. Note: Bosch's step-up 18V 1/4" hex impact driver. The product specs do not call it PROFACTOR.
- Craftsman CMCF813B, V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/4" Impact Driver: https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcf813b/v20-brushless-rp-cordless-14-impact-driver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Craftsman CMCF830B, V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/4" 3-Speed Impact Driver: https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcf830b/v20-brushless-rp-cordless-14-impact-driver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R862301B, 18V Brushless 1/4" Impact Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846079813. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R862311B, 18V Brushless 3-Speed 1/4" Impact Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846079806. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ryobi PSBID02B, 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/4" Impact Driver: https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287219612. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ryobi PBLID04B, 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 4-Mode 1/4" Impact Driver: https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287226733. Accessed 2026-10-29.
Get our deal roundup by email
We send it when we post new, dated deals. No spam; unsubscribe any time.























