
Home / Comparisons / Spec sheets
Spec sheetHammer Drills compared
A hammer drill adds a hammering action for holes in brick, block and concrete. In wood it works like a regular drill. Here is every major brand at the same tier, side by side, from each brand's own spec pages.
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Copied from each brand's own product pages, accessed 2026-10-29. We never rank them or pick a winner from specs.
The store buttons under each model are affiliate links: I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Specs are never changed because of a commission.
Weekend projects, repairs around the house, a few jobs a month. Lighter and lower cost.
Daily use, bigger bits and blades, tougher material. More power, usually more weight and cost.
Batteries only fit tools from their own brand line. If you already own batteries, compare inside that brand first.
Entry / DIY brushless
Ryobi ONE+ HP, Craftsman V20 brushless, Ridgid 18V brushless, DeWalt ATOMIC/XR, Milwaukee M18 brushless, Makita 18V LXT brushless, Bosch 18V brushless. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | Other power rating (UWO etc.) | No-load speed (RPM) | Blows per minute (BPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) | Clutch settings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GSB18V-800CN [7]18V Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 565 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-630 / 0-2,100 | 0-29,500 | 2.7 lbbasis not stated | 6.9 in | 20feature bullet |
| Craftsman CMCD716B [9]V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact 1/2" Hammer Drill DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | not published | 0-600 / 0-1,900feature bullet | not published | 2.47 lb (tool only)feature bullet | not published | not published |
| DeWalt DCD799B [3]ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/2" Hammer DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | 585 UWOfeature bullet | up to 1,650 | up to 28,050feature bullet | 2.8 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 6.5 in (tool head only)feature bullet | 15 |
| Makita XPH12Z [5]18V LXT Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer Driver-DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 530 in.lbs (60 N·m) | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-500 / 0-2,000 | 0-7,500 / 0-30,000 | 4 lb with battery (spec table; a feature bullet says 4.2 lb) | 7-1/8 in overall | not published |
| Milwaukee 3602-20 [1]M18 Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 550 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-1,700spec table + feature bullet | not published | 2.3 lb (tool only); 3.2 lb with battery | 5.8 in | 12 |
| Ridgid R86115B [11]18V Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 800 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 2,100 max | 31,500 | 2.9 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published | not published |
| Ryobi PSBHM02B [13]18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 450 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-450 / 0-1,700 | 0-27,200 | 2.3 lbbasis not stated | not published | 24-position |
Pro / flagship
Milwaukee M18 FUEL, DeWalt XR / FLEXVOLT ADVANTAGE, Makita LXT flagship, Bosch PROFACTOR, Ridgid top current model, Ryobi HP top model, Craftsman V20 RP. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | Other power rating (UWO etc.) | No-load speed (RPM) | Blows per minute (BPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) | Clutch settings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GSB18V-1330CN [8]PROFACTOR 18V 1/2" Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,330 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-2,200 | 0-30,000 | 4.6 lbbasis not stated | 8 in | 25feature bullet |
| Craftsman CMCD726B [10]V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2" Hammer DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | 495 UWOfeature bullet | 0-500 / 0-2,000spec table + feature bullet | up to 34,000feature bullet | 3.09 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 8.48 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated | 15 |
| DeWalt DCD1007B [4]20V MAX XR Brushless 1/2" 3-Speed Hammer DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | not published | up to 2,000 | not published | 5.83 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 15.2 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated | 11 |
| Makita XPH14Z [6]18V LXT Brushless 1/2" Hammer Driver-DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,250 in.lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-2,100 | 0-8,250 / 0-31,500 | 6 lb with battery | 7 in overall | not published |
| Milwaukee 2904-20 [2]M18 FUEL 1/2" Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,400 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-2,100 (top speed) | not published | 3.3 lb (tool only); 4.9 lb with battery | 6.95 in | 16 |
| Ridgid R861152B [12]18V Brushless 1/2" High Torque Hammer Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,250 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 2,000 max | 32,000 | 3.4 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published | not published |
| Ryobi PBLHM102B [14]18V ONE+ HP Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill (Gen II)AmazonHome DepotLowe's | up to 850 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-700 / 0-2,150 | 0-34,000 | not published | not published | 24-position |
Charts by spec
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
Max torque (in-lbs, as published)
In-lbs only, as published. UWO/MWO ratings are in the tables, not charted. Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
No-load speed (RPM)
Blows per minute (BPM)
Weight (lb)
Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
Length (in)
Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
What the specs mean
Twisting force for big bits in wood. Brands measure it their own way.
How many hammer hits per minute in hammer mode. That is what moves the bit through masonry.
Top spin speed with nothing in the chuck.
Lets you set a stopping force when you use it as a driver.
How to read these tables
- Values are copied as published. Nothing is estimated, averaged or converted. "not published" means the manufacturer page didn't list it. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
- Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
- Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
- Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
- Grey text under a value shows where on the page it came from (if not the spec table), or that the brand doesn't say what the weight includes.
Keep learning
Brand pages with deals, manuals and warranty: DeWalt · Makita · Milwaukee · Ridgid · Ryobi
More spec sheets
Sources
All manufacturer pages, accessed 2026-10-29. No retailer data used. No prices shown. Specs change, so check the brand's page before you buy.
- Milwaukee 3602-20, M18 Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/x/3602-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Milwaukee 2904-20, M18 FUEL 1/2" Hammer Drill/Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/x/2904-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCD799B, ATOMIC 20V MAX 1/2" Hammer Drill: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcd799b/atomic-20v-max-12-hammer-drill-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCD1007B, 20V MAX XR Brushless 1/2" 3-Speed Hammer Drill: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcd1007b/20v-max-xr-brushless-cordless-12-3-speed-hammer-drill-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29. Note: DeWalt calls this its most powerful 20V MAX hammer drill. No torque, UWO or BPM figure on the page.
- Makita XPH12Z, 18V LXT Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XPH12Z. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Makita XPH14Z, 18V LXT Brushless 1/2" Hammer Driver-Drill: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XPH14Z. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GSB18V-800CN, 18V Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/Driver: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gsb18v-800cn-06019K6110. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GSB18V-1330CN, PROFACTOR 18V 1/2" Hammer Drill/Driver: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gsb18v-1330cn-06019J5116. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Craftsman CMCD716B, V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact 1/2" Hammer Drill Driver: https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcd716b/v20-brushless-rp-cordless-compact-12-hammer-drill-driver. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Craftsman CMCD726B, V20 BRUSHLESS RP 1/2" Hammer Drill: https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcd726b/v20-brushless-rp-12-hammer-drill-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R86115B, 18V Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill/Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846077079. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R861152B, 18V Brushless 1/2" High Torque Hammer Drill/Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846083018. Accessed 2026-10-29. Note: Ridgid no longer lists MAX OCTANE tools; this High Torque model is its top current 18V hammer drill.
- Ryobi PSBHM02B, 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill: https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287219636. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ryobi PBLHM102B, 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 1/2" Hammer Drill (Gen II): https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287226719. Accessed 2026-10-29.
Get our deal roundup by email
We send it when we post new, dated deals. No spam; unsubscribe any time.






















