
Home / Comparisons / Spec sheets
Spec sheetDrill/Drivers compared
A drill/driver is the first cordless tool most homes need: hanging shelves, building furniture, drilling for anchors. Here is every major brand at the same tier, side by side, from each brand's own spec pages.
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Copied from each brand's own product pages, accessed 2026-10-29. We never rank them or pick a winner from specs.
The store buttons under each model are affiliate links: I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Specs are never changed because of a commission.
Weekend projects, repairs around the house, a few jobs a month. Lighter and lower cost.
Daily use, bigger bits and blades, tougher material. More power, usually more weight and cost.
Batteries only fit tools from their own brand line. If you already own batteries, compare inside that brand first.
Entry / DIY brushless
Ryobi ONE+ HP, Craftsman V20 brushless, Ridgid 18V brushless, DeWalt ATOMIC/XR, Milwaukee M18 brushless, Makita 18V LXT brushless, Bosch 18V brushless. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | Other power rating (UWO etc.) | No-load speed (RPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) | Chuck | Clutch settings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GSR18V-800CN [7]18V Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 565 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-630 / 0-2,100 | 2.5 lbbasis not stated | 6.4 in | 1/2 in keyless | 20+1feature bullet |
| Craftsman CMCD714 [9]V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact 1/2" Drill Driver (kit page CMCD714D1)AmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | not published | up to 1,900feature bullet | 2.35 lb ("Assembled Product Weight" on kit page)basis not stated; kit page | 6.2 in (tool head length)feature bullet | 1/2 inproduct title | not published |
| DeWalt DCD794B [3]ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | 404 UWOfeature bullet | up to 1,650 | 2.75 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 5.88 in (tool head only)feature bullet | 1/2 in ratchetingfeature bullet | 15 |
| Makita XFD12Z [5]18V LXT Compact Brushless 1/2" Driver-DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 530 in.lbs (60 N·m) | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-500 / 0-2,000 | 3.9 lb with battery | 6-3/4 in overall | 1/2 in | not published |
| Milwaukee 3601-20 [1]M18 Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 550 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-1,700spec table + feature bullet | 2.3 lb (tool only); 3.2 lb with battery | 5.7 in | 1/2 in | 13 |
| Ridgid R87012B [11]18V SubCompact Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 500 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 1,750 max | 2.0 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published | 1/2 in keyless | not published |
| Ryobi PSBDD02B [13]18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 450 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-450 / 0-1,750 (spec table; a feature bullet says 0-1,700) | 2.1 lbbasis not stated | 6.1 infeature bullet | 1/2 in | 24-position |
Pro / flagship
Milwaukee M18 FUEL, DeWalt XR / FLEXVOLT ADVANTAGE, Makita LXT flagship, Bosch PROFACTOR, Ridgid top current model, Ryobi HP top model, Craftsman V20 RP. Bare tool, no battery.
| Brand / model | Max torque (in-lbs, as published) | Other power rating (UWO etc.) | No-load speed (RPM) | Weight (lb) | Length (in) | Chuck | Clutch settings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bosch GSR18V-1330CN [8]PROFACTOR 18V 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,330 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-2,200 | 4.6 lbbasis not stated | 8 in | 1/2 in keyless | 25feature bullet |
| Craftsman CMCD725 [10]V20 Brushless RP 1/2" Drill/Driver (kit page CMCD725D2)AmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | 495 UWOfeature bullet | 0-500 / 0-2,000spec table + feature bullet | not published for bare tool (6.55 lb listed is the kit)kit weight only | not published | 1/2 in ratcheting | 15 |
| DeWalt DCD801B [4]20V MAX XR Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | not published | not published | 0-650 / 0-2,000spec table + feature bullet | 3.2 lb ("Assembled Product Weight")basis not stated | 9.0 in ("Assembled Product Length")basis not stated | 1/2 in metal ratchetingfeature bullet | 15 |
| Makita XFD14Z [6]18V LXT Brushless 1/2" Driver-DrillAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,250 in.lbs (141 N·m) | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-550 / 0-2,100 | 5.7 lb with battery | 7 in overall | 1/2 in | not published |
| Milwaukee 2903-20 [2]M18 FUEL 1/2" Drill DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 1,400 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-2,100 (top speed) | 3.21 lb (tool only); 4.82 lb with battery | 6.88 in | 1/2 in all-metal ratcheting | 16 |
| Ridgid R86114B [12]18V Brushless 1/2" Drill/DriverAmazonHome DepotLowe's | 800 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 2,100 max | 3.1 lb ("Product Weight")basis not stated | not published | 1/2 in keyless | not published |
| Ryobi PBLDD02B [14]18V ONE+ HP Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver (Gen II)AmazonHome DepotLowe's | up to 850 in-lbs | n/a (torque in in-lbs published) | 0-700 / 0-2,150 | not published | not published | 1/2 in ratcheting metal | 24-position |
Charts by spec
Manufacturer-published specs. Not our tests. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
Max torque (in-lbs, as published)
In-lbs only, as published. UWO/MWO ratings are in the tables, not charted. Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
No-load speed (RPM)
Weight (lb)
Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
Length (in)
Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
What the specs mean
Twisting force. More helps with big bits and long screws. Brands measure it their own way.
How fast the chuck spins with nothing in it. High speed is for drilling; low speed is for driving screws.
Stops the drill at a set force so screws do not strip or sink too deep.
A 1/2" chuck holds bigger bits than a 3/8" chuck.
How to read these tables
- Values are copied as published. Nothing is estimated, averaged or converted. "not published" means the manufacturer page didn't list it. Bars are in fixed alphabetical brand order. There's no ranking and no winner.
- Brands rate torque and power differently: in-lbs (Milwaukee, Bosch, Ridgid, Ryobi), in.lbs/N·m (Makita), and DeWalt and Craftsman often publish UWO (Unit Watts Out), and MWO (Max Watts Out) for some tools, instead of torque. UWO and MWO are not torque, so they're shown as text and never charted against in-lbs. Even in-lbs figures come from each brand's own test method, so a taller bar doesn't mean a stronger tool.
- Brands publish weight on different bases: tool only, with a battery (which battery varies), or unstated ("Assembled Product Weight", "Product Weight"). Each bar is tagged with its basis. Only compare bars that carry the same tag.
- Length bases differ (overall length, tool-head length, or a plain 'Length' field). Each bar is tagged. Assembled or package-style dimensions aren't charted.
- Grey text under a value shows where on the page it came from (if not the spec table), or that the brand doesn't say what the weight includes.
Keep learning
- Impact driver vs drill vs hammer drill
- Drills and drill bits explained
- Using drills and saws safely
- How we review tools
Brand pages with deals, manuals and warranty: DeWalt · Makita · Milwaukee · Ridgid · Ryobi
More spec sheets
Sources
All manufacturer pages, accessed 2026-10-29. No retailer data used. No prices shown. Specs change, so check the brand's page before you buy.
- Milwaukee 3601-20, M18 Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/m18-compact-brushless-1-2-drill-driver/3601-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Milwaukee 2903-20, M18 FUEL 1/2" Drill Driver: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/products/details/m18-fuel-1-2-drill-driver/2903-20. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCD794B, ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcd794b/atomic-20v-max-brushless-cordless-12-drilldriver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- DeWalt DCD801B, 20V MAX XR Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcd801b/20v-max-xr-brushless-cordless-12-drilldriver-tool-only. Accessed 2026-10-29. Note: DeWalt calls this its most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed drill/driver. No torque or UWO figure on the page.
- Makita XFD12Z, 18V LXT Compact Brushless 1/2" Driver-Drill: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XFD12Z. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Makita XFD14Z, 18V LXT Brushless 1/2" Driver-Drill: https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/XFD14Z. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GSR18V-800CN, 18V Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gsr18v-800cn-06019K6010. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Bosch GSR18V-1330CN, PROFACTOR 18V 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.boschtools.com/us/en/products/gsr18v-1330cn-06019J5016. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Craftsman CMCD714, V20 BRUSHLESS RP Compact 1/2" Drill Driver (kit page CMCD714D1): https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcd714d1/v20-brushless-rp-cordless-compact-12-drill-driver-kit-1-20-ah-battery-and-charger [kit page; no bare-tool page found]. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Craftsman CMCD725, V20 Brushless RP 1/2" Drill/Driver (kit page CMCD725D2): https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcd725d2/v20-brushless-rp-12-drilldriver-kit [kit page; no bare-tool page found]. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R87012B, 18V SubCompact Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846085159. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ridgid R86114B, 18V Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://powertools.ridgid.com/products/648846077062. Accessed 2026-10-29. Note: Ridgid no longer lists MAX OCTANE tools on powertools.ridgid.com; this is its top current 18V brushless drill/driver.
- Ryobi PSBDD02B, 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver: https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287219599. Accessed 2026-10-29.
- Ryobi PBLDD02B, 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver (Gen II): https://www.ryobitools.com/products/33287238200. Accessed 2026-10-29.
Get our deal roundup by email
We send it when we post new, dated deals. No spam; unsubscribe any time.























